Centers for Disease Control order banning evictions for certain renters

On September 4, 2020, the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) issued an order banning evictions for certain renters through December 31, 2020. The CDC is issuing the eviction moratorium to protect public health and prevent further spread of COVID-19. The order is separate and independent from the expired CARES Act eviction moratorium. The order applies to assisted and unassisted renters in all fifty states, the District of Columbia and U.S. territories (except American Samoa, where there are currently no cases of COVID-19). Wherever there is a state, local or territorial residential eviction moratorium in effect that provides the same or greater level of public-health protection, those protections supersede the CDC order.


To be eligible for eviction protections under the order, residents must sign a declaration form (see link below) and meet the requirements outlined in the order, which are also described in the declaration form.


The order is available at: 

The declaration form is available at:


Renew Your Membership